NoteUpdated 1h ago · 1021 words

Clinical Trial Starts & Stops — week ending August 29, 2026

This edition covers ClinicalTrials.gov registry events from 2026-08-23 to 2026-08-29, with 997 starts, 134 stops, 951 completions, and 15 FDA approvals.

Why trials stopped

Reason Trials Tone
Enrollment or accrual 34 neutral
No reason given 30 neutral
Funding 19 neutral
Stated, but not classifiable 19 neutral
Sponsor or business decision 15 neutral
Supply, equipment or protocol 7 neutral
Administrative or investigator 3 neutral
Regulatory or approval 2 neutral
Planned protocol transition 2 neutral
Safety 2 negative
Futility or no benefit 1 negative

The most frequent reasons for stopping trials this week were related to enrollment or accrual (34 trials) and instances where no specific reason was provided (30 trials). Funding issues also accounted for a notable number of stops (19 trials).

Halts worth knowing about

A Phase III Study to Investigate if the Study Drug Diamyd Can Preserve Insulin Production and Improve Glycemic Control in Patients Newly Diagnosed With Type 1 Diabetes

Phase 3, TERMINATED by Diamyd Medical AB on 2026-08-26 for Type 1 Diabetes Mellitus. 321 actual enrollment. "Stopped for futility." https://clinicaltrials.gov/study/NCT05018585

A Study of Nivolumab-relatlimab Fixed-dose Combination Versus Regorafenib or TAS-102 in Participants With Later-lines of Metastatic Colorectal Cancer

Phase 3, TERMINATED by Bristol-Myers Squibb on 2026-08-26 for Colorectal Neoplasms. 769 actual enrollment. No reason was provided by the sponsor. https://clinicaltrials.gov/study/NCT05328908

Nivolumab and Ipilimumab in Treating Patients With Esophageal and Gastroesophageal Junction Adenocarcinoma Undergoing Surgery

Phase 3, SUSPENDED by National Cancer Institute (NCI) on 2026-08-24 for Clinical Stage II Esophageal Adenocarcinoma AJCC v8, Clinical Stage II Gastroesophageal Junction Adenocarcinoma AJCC v8. 278 estimated enrollment. "End of Initial Phase of Multi-phase protocol" https://clinicaltrials.gov/study/NCT03604991

A Study to Test the Addition of the Drug Cabozantinib to Chemotherapy in Patients With Newly Diagnosed Osteosarcoma

Phase 3, SUSPENDED by National Cancer Institute (NCI) on 2026-08-24 for High Grade Osteosarcoma, Localized Osteosarcoma. 1122 estimated enrollment. "Other - Extend the observation period for current patients" https://clinicaltrials.gov/study/NCT05691478

Testing the Addition of an Immunotherapy Drug, Cemiplimab (REGN2810), Plus Surgery to the Usual Surgery Alone for Treating Advanced Skin Cancer

Phase 3, SUSPENDED by National Cancer Institute (NCI) on 2026-08-24 for Eyelid Squamous Cell Carcinoma, Recurrent Eyelid Squamous Cell Carcinoma. 420 estimated enrollment. "Other - Other" https://clinicaltrials.gov/study/NCT06568172

Evaluation of Safety and Efficacy of Dehydrated Human Amnion-Intermediate-Chorion Membrane (dHAICM) Allograft in Treatment of Partial Thickness Thermal Burns

Phase 4, WITHDRAWN by Cellution Biologics on 2026-08-27 for Partial Thickness Burn. 0 actual enrollment. "Change in company strategy." https://clinicaltrials.gov/study/NCT07489560

Evaluate the Efficacy and Safety of Amnion Membrane Disc Allograft vs Standard of Care in Participants With Dry Eye Disease

Phase 4, WITHDRAWN by Cellution Biologics on 2026-08-27 for Dry Eye Disease (DED). 0 actual enrollment. "Change in company strategy." https://clinicaltrials.gov/study/NCT07529899

Age and Response to Flu Vaccines

Phase 4, TERMINATED by National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) on 2026-08-28 for Influenza, Influenza Immunisation. 152 actual enrollment. "Study visits could not be completed for all enrolled participants due to COVID-19 Pandemic" https://clinicaltrials.gov/study/NCT03328325

Halts by phase

Phase Count Industry Sponsor
Phase 3 5 2
Phase 2 43 4
Phase 1 and 1/2 21 6
Phase 4 4 2
No drug phase (device, behavioural, procedural) 39 5
Phase not stated 22 8

New registrations

Phase Count Industry Sponsor
Phase 3 51 34
Phase 2 88 24
Phase 1 and 1/2 71 43
Phase 4 34 3
No drug phase (device, behavioural, procedural) 532 35
Phase not stated 221 32

Completions

Phase Count Industry Sponsor
Phase 3 58 30
Phase 2 88 35
Phase 1 and 1/2 80 36
Phase 4 29 5
No drug phase (device, behavioural, procedural) 451 43
Phase not stated 245 15

FDA approvals

Application Number Brand Name Sponsor Submission Type Submission Class Date
NDA217806 ZEPBOUND ELI LILLY AND CO SUPPL Efficacy 2026-08-26
BLA761416 ZIIHERA JAZZ PHARMS SUPPL Efficacy 2026-08-25
BLA761232 TEVIMBRA BEIGENE SUPPL Efficacy 2026-08-25
NDA204790 TIVICAY VIIV HLTHCARE SUPPL Efficacy 2026-08-25
NDA213983 TIVICAY PD VIIV HLTHCARE SUPPL Efficacy 2026-08-25
BLA761430 IMAAVY JANSSEN BIOTECH SUPPL Efficacy 2026-08-24

All 6 of the listed approvals were for efficacy supplements.

Methodology

ClinicalTrials.gov registrations and status changes, plus FDA drug approvals from openFDA. A registry status change is what the sponsor reported and when they reported it, which is not necessarily when it happened. Routine FDA labeling and manufacturing supplements are counted but not listed; only new or expanded indications are. The reason classification for trial stops is a proprietary system that analyzes the whyStopped field from ClinicalTrials.gov. Phase 1/2 trials are grouped into "Phase 1 and 1/2" and trials with no specified phase are grouped into "Phase not stated". Rubric version: trials/v1

Clinical Trial Starts & Stops — week ending August 29, 2026 · Clinical Trial Starts & Stops · Ounie